Hi Readers

I have been working on my next book all day but I just wanted to pay a tribute to Oliver Sacks, Neurologist and Author who sadly died at the weekend.

Oliver Sacks, Neurologist Who Wrote About the Brain’s Quirks, Dies at 82 – NYTimes.com

I first came across Oliver Sacks when I was doing research for my EdD (doctorate in education) and was looking at the work of Erving Goffman.  The reading led me to Sacks’ The Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat.

Reading about his take on the Autist Artist Jose was fascinating.  Sacks revelled in the positives of autism: the ‘fine literal powers’, ‘figurative powers’, being ‘original’ as they are seldom open to influence.  Sacks pondered all the beautiful and unique possibilities for Jose to work within the realms of his talents.  He didn’t write him off as many would have done.

Just last week I again watched the film (Awakenings) about his work using L-Dopa (a drug usually for Parkinson’s patients) to bring back patients from a ‘sleeping sickness’ in the sixties.  Incredibly played by the late Robin Williams (also a genius), his book of the same name is brought to life.

I have worked for two neurologists in my former career as a medical secretary, and I know the dedication they have to their work.  I came across many upsetting and disturbing cases of patients, young and old, who had life threatening or debilitating illnesses.

People like Oliver Sacks are to be commended and admired for their constant dedication in helping these people.

I for one shall be rereading the aforementioned book and his other books to remind myself what a dedicated and committed professional looks like and to inspire myself to continue writing my own books and help in some way autistic individuals like myself.

Until next time…

 

 

Don’t forget to order my book out now

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss/277-0904530-7228300?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=beale-ellis

or via my website www.theautisticvoice.co.uk